Home / News

25 Jun 2021

Tiago Ferreira and Naima Madlen win Stage 1

The DMT Racing Team by Marconi rules the elite men category

He arrived as the main favorite and has made it clear from the beginning of the seventh edition of La Rioja Bike Race presented by Pirelli. Tiago Ferreria, European and World Champion, won Stage 1 with solvency and authority. He was accompanied on the podium by his teammates from the DMT Racing Team by Marconi, Wout Alleman and Andreas Miltiadis. In the women's category, the winner was Naima Madlen (Tuspo Weende e.V) ahead of Sílvia Roura (BMC TBellès by Kalas) and Agnieta Francke. A day that has been marked by the sun and good weather that have made enjoy the 600 participants who have taken the start.

Tiago Ferreira set the pace from the start and decided to open a gap on the first climb. It was not until the first long climb of the day to Monte de Zenzano - which for the first time received the riders of La Rioja Bike Race presented by Pirelli - when he opened important differences. The Portuguese rider rode alone, without taking any risks on the descent, and reached the finish line with a minute and a half ahead of his teammate Wout Alleman, who tried to close the gap without success. Andreas Miltiadis came in third, more than six minutes behind. 

The Portuguese rider is the first leader of the race and at the end of the stage he was very satisfied with the result. "The idea I had was to attack on the first climb and open a gap so that I could then manage the advantage on the longest pass, which is what suits me. I'm physically fine. It's been less than a week since I competed in the European Championships and I'm still in a good moment, so I have to take advantage of it." Ferreira also made it clear that he wants to keep the leader's jersey until Sunday.  

In the women's category, Naima Madlen rode a stage similar to Ferreria's, but the differences at the finish line were smaller. At the beginning, all the elite riders were grouped together and waiting to see what their rivals were doing. It was just before the first aid station, at kilometer 28, when Madlen decided to impose its pace and has released Roura and Francke. 

Sílvia Roura tried to close the gap on the descent, but never managed to connect with Madlen despite seeing her at some final points of the course. Thus, Naima Madlen is now the leader with 1 minute and 2 seconds over Sílvia Roura and 2 minutes and 32 seconds over Agnieta Francke. 

At the end of the stage, the new leader of the race has expressed that the stage is "perfect" and that she is "very happy to be here and to be able to start like this". "I knew it was a race with long climbs and that it was about setting a pace. In this sense, I had to find my own pace and I think I did pretty well. I felt good and I hope to keep fighting in the remaining stages."

Rankings STAGE 1 - La Rioja Bike Race presented by Pirelli - Elite Male
02:45:31 Tiago Ferreira DMT RACING TEAM BY MARCONI
02:47:01 Wout Alleman DMT RACING TEAM BY MARCONI
02:52:05 Andreas Miltiadis DMT RACING TEAM BY MARCONI

Qualifications STAGE 1 - La Rioja Bike Race presented by Pirelli - Women's Elite
03:42:45 Naima Madlen TUSPO WEENDE E.V
03:43:47 Sílvia Roura BMC TBELLÈS BY KALAS
03:45:17 Agnieta Francke INDEPENDENT

La Rioja Bike Race




Official Media